Author Topic: Question About Vocal Reverb  (Read 1830 times)

ChiroVette

• Padawan
Question About Vocal Reverb
« on: July 14, 2022, 01:11:03 AM »
Hey all!

Okay, I am a musician, not a sound man. Yes, I can get sound to come out of channels, and make them sound reasonably good to my ear and my audience when I mix for my live shows, but I really am not good at this at all, nor do I really aspire to be. I am so n00bish, I couldn't even really follow along with a lot of the Youtube instructional videos, where the guy was flying through adjusting gates and compressions and effects on various instruments. I couldn't even really hear the difference between his "before and after" stuff on various drum tracks when he added EQ on effects, and on kicks and snares and toms.

So I have decent equipment. PRX612 tops on 618XLF subs, and am using a Mackie 1608. Like I said, overall, I love the Mackie, and how easy most of the mixing is, and a lot of the features, but I am completely clueless with effects, compression, gating, and so on.

But to start off with, I would REALLY love to get some decent reverb and perhaps a little delay from the 1608 for vocals. I figure that's the place to start off. I can worry about instruments later, lol if at all!

But I really haven't been able to get decent vocal reverb from the 1608, and I am quite sure it's my fault and inexperience. There certainly seem to be enough settings. Whenever I play with the reverb it sounds like really "springy" and obnoxious. Not even sure if springy is the right word. But I find the verb on the vox to either be too overpowering and oppressive or just not very pleasant when I dial it back enough to not sound "nasty".