Cacophony Forums

Unofficial Mackie User Forums => DL1608/DL806/DL32R/ProDX Mixers => Topic started by: musicman7722 on June 26, 2019, 01:24:56 PM

Title: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: musicman7722 on June 26, 2019, 01:24:56 PM
Friends

I haven't tried to use the record feature for quite some time.  Recently when I plugged in the 500 gig hdd I had used it came up "error".  The drive however worked fine on my PC.  I went out and bought a new 1-T hdd, formatted it to fat32 but I still get an error message when I open the record window.  I thought well maybe it is to big so I took an 8 gig flash drive I had and formatted that to fat32 but that too comes up error.

Again this error message is in the record window at the very top where it would usually say drive or busy or whatever.

Any thoughts?

TY
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: ToH2002 on June 26, 2019, 04:42:15 PM
Will the DL32R let you format the drive or does the error mean that you can't access it at all? Ususally, it's better to format on the DL32R instead of formatting elsewhere.
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: musicman7722 on June 26, 2019, 05:10:52 PM
It doe4sn't give me that option

thanks
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: dpdan on June 26, 2019, 05:40:46 PM
occasionally, I have had the same problem. :(
If I recall, turning off the DL32R power and then turning it back on allowed me to use the drive.
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: dpdan on June 26, 2019, 05:43:52 PM
ToH2002 is correct, it is always best to format the drive with the DL32R,
but your answer to his post would lead him to believe that formatting the drive on that recording page is not even an option...

It doesn't give me that option

thanks

what you meant was.... the option to format is greyed out
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: musicman7722 on June 26, 2019, 05:58:01 PM
Well an interesting story here.  The hard drive I am trying to us is a new Seagate Ultra Slim.  Anyway I am a PC tech and in my office I have some hard drive caddy;'s/  I grabbed one and put an old 80 gig laptop hard drive I had lying around.  I plugged the caddy into the 32r and then booted up the 32r.  I reopened the software and it gave me first a busy notice then the ability to format the drive.  I did so and I was able to record.  I shut the caddy off and plugged in my Seagate, that to then gave me the option to reformat.  I did and the drive came up as usable and I recorded to that too.

Then I shut the dl32 off with the drive in it.  When I looked it said error.  Hmm  I did the option all over again using the 80 gig first and then the Seagate which I reformatted again which came back online.

This time however I hit the eject for each drive before taking them out or shutting down.  So far every time I reboot the 32r it recognizes the big drive.

Hmm, I will give it awhile and try it again to see if that was the issue.
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: dpdan on June 26, 2019, 06:25:56 PM
you know what????
You may just have the answer....

as most of us know, it is always recommended to "Eject" the drive before shutting down or unplugging the drive.
This could very well be a typical old Microsoft design issue, (FAT32) if the drive was not finished doing what it was doing when it last lost power (like shutting off the DL32R at the end of a gig),
the next time it is awakened, it gives the ERROR!

Although now that I think of it...
I have done hundreds and hundreds of jobs with my DL32R and I always leave the drive connected and only eject it when I literally want to transfer files from it which is almost never.
So, why is this becoming an issue just occasionally?
retorical question  :)   
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: musicman7722 on June 27, 2019, 12:06:23 AM
same here but often times it is all about the work around right  :thu:
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: dpdan on June 27, 2019, 02:21:11 AM
that's for sure,,, one time it really screwed me...

I was going to record a band's reunion with their system which is a DL32R and I brought one of my drives that I use with mine,,,
I got the error and nothing I did allowed me to format and use the drive so the event was NOT recorded.

Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: musicman7722 on June 28, 2019, 12:23:32 PM
That is what happened to me as well and if you see my early posts it took an old hard drive plugged in via a hdd caddy to allow me to get the format prompt back.
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: musicman7722 on June 28, 2019, 12:24:41 PM
I am also happy to report all is well and I recorded a 2 hour Beatles Tribut band at an outdoor show last night.  I was able to start and stop each tune as they performed them and in the end playback worked.  Finally I ejected the drive :)
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: dpdan on June 28, 2019, 09:33:58 PM
that's gutsy, I would stop and restart only occasionally, but that's just me :)
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: musicman7722 on June 29, 2019, 12:48:40 PM
I don't feel that way.  EAsy to end the song, the tricky part is getting back to the effects in time to turn them off LOL
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: dpdan on June 29, 2019, 03:30:02 PM
I can relate  :)
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: JohnMHoyt on July 04, 2019, 03:08:03 PM
I don't feel that way.  EAsy to end the song, the tricky part is getting back to the effects in time to turn them off LOL

It's easy if you use two iPads to mix with.   But not so easy if the band bangs the next song without taking a breath.  The DL32R does NOT respond to starting a recording lightning fast, so even at my rehearsals, I've missed the count-off when recording songs, hitting start on the ONE... It doesn't actually record until the 3 or 4, or sometimes after the start of the song
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: WK154 on July 04, 2019, 07:49:10 PM
To answer the OP original issue this problem has been there since 2015. Search for "Archwave" it will get the topic fairly well covered. Too bad Mackie only hints at it in their manual with a note stating that it will take "some time" to complete the recording process. No clue as to how long. The Eject command will shorten this time since it is the only other mechanism that will finalize the FAT. If you loose power and are in this critical time period you're out of luck. Take your time to shut down or use the eject command to be safe. There are three processors involved that affect the time delay, four if you include the operator. The delay might be able to be shortened somewhat depending on the operator (number of beers  :) ) or a wired connection to the mixer (WiFi is much slower). As to the "formatting of the drive" that is very questionable and interchangeability would be in question of the FAT32 file system. Any indication as in Mackie's manual raises red flags as to being a conforming FAT32 file system driver (buggy driver that may not be able to be fixed or additional data not in the Standard but used by Mackie which is bad practice). The Archwave processor (3rd party product) handles all the disk writing/reading via USB to the drive and communicates with the mixer via a parallel interface receiving commands and data (bidirectional) from the mixer's processor. Dan the Microsoft "issue" was a design and feature option to either write direct or cache the data in the OS (your choice). There is also a discrepancy between Mackie's DL1608/806 and the DL32R in file size Dl1608/806 handles 4GB while the DL32R only 2GB. Possibly a limitation of the Archwave product. The lack of sub-directories below Music is also a poor choice and a indication of a incomplete FAT32 driver.
Title: Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
Post by: JohnMHoyt on July 05, 2019, 12:28:29 PM
To answer the OP original issue this problem has been there since 2015.

I find the recordings to be very reliable, and understand the limitations. So for the most part have found work-arounds to insure all goes well.

There have been a couple large drives that have attempted to use that did not function, and one SSD drive also refused to be seen and formatted, but I get it. Hard disk recording wasn't ever a priority in my opinion - from the get-go everyone said that if I wanted to record with this board, I should just use a computer.
I don't WANT to use a computer - so I live with the limitations.   It's still better than any other board I've used or owned in that regard, though another brand has a card you can add that seems to be doing very well for direct multi-track recording.

The time to get a recording started (or stopped) is absolutely not a certainty.   Everything you said applies.  Slow wifi, slow hard drive, board busy doing it's real job of mixing, and yes, the beer factor, can all affect how fast that starts and stops.   
I'm good with it - so long as everyone understands that it could be 2 seconds or it could be 20...   Yes, 20, when recording 22-24 tracks, I have had it take a LONG LONG time to start/stop.

Oh, you mentioned power loss during recording.   That's happened, as has the old problem with my old board, where it just stops responding (lock up) and the recording lost.   =( 
Of the hundreds of recordings, it has happened half a dozen times.

all-in-all, I'm pretty happy.  Could it be better? Sure, there's room for improvement but I feel there's other areas that most people would prefer energy were put into =)