Author Topic: Wondering if I should upgrade my iPad 2  (Read 5057 times)

Cobra Jet

• Padawan
Wondering if I should upgrade my iPad 2
« on: October 25, 2016, 10:24:10 PM »
I have a DL1608 that I have been using as my bands main mixer that replaced a Mackie CFX12. It’s a simple mix with four vocal mics, three instruments, two to four drum mics and two to four monitors depending on the venue. Since I play keyboards, I do most of the configurations and hand the iPad to the singers spouse just to keep an eye on things.
I’ve been using the DL with an iPad 2 for about six months and things have been going well with very few problems including at least two Master Fader and OS upgrades. My first thought is to just leave well enough alone since things are going ok but after reading a few posts about some of the problems with MF 4.5 I may be thinking about upgrading my iPad.

What are some of the pros and cons to upgrading my iPad? The first thing I will need to address is changing to the lighting connector. It looks like I can either use an Apple 30 pin to Lightning adaptor, or a connector that Mackie seems to have.

Thoughts/recommendations?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2016, 10:27:50 PM by Cobra Jet »

RoadRanger

• SysGod
  • Counselor
  • Master
  • "Wherever you go, There you are"
    • Cacophony Forums
Re: Wondering if I should upgrade my iPad 2
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2016, 12:14:31 AM »
I'm still using iPad 2's - why "upgrade" if it's still working fine fine you?

James91104

• Knight
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2016, 06:01:00 AM »
why "upgrade" if it's still working fine fine you?
Because IMHO, the experience of reduced display lag, improved WiFi connection, iOS 10 compatibility is so much nicer for not just MF Classic, and in particular MF4, but as well for most any other manufacturer`s comparable HUI app.

dpdan

• Dapper Dan
  • Master
    • kurysound.com
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2016, 08:27:11 AM »