Author Topic: Hard Drive Error on DL32r  (Read 707 times)

musicman7722

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Hamtpon NH, USA 03844
  • Posts: 186
    • Triple Play
Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« on: June 26, 2019, 01:24:56 PM »
Friends

I haven't tried to use the record feature for quite some time.  Recently when I plugged in the 500 gig hdd I had used it came up "error".  The drive however worked fine on my PC.  I went out and bought a new 1-T hdd, formatted it to fat32 but I still get an error message when I open the record window.  I thought well maybe it is to big so I took an 8 gig flash drive I had and formatted that to fat32 but that too comes up error.

Again this error message is in the record window at the very top where it would usually say drive or busy or whatever.

Any thoughts?

TY

ToH2002

  • Padawan
  • ***
  • Location:
  • Posts: 70
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2019, 04:42:15 PM »
Will the DL32R let you format the drive or does the error mean that you can't access it at all? Ususally, it's better to format on the DL32R instead of formatting elsewhere.

musicman7722

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Hamtpon NH, USA 03844
  • Posts: 186
    • Triple Play
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2019, 05:10:52 PM »
It doe4sn't give me that option

thanks

dpdan

  • Dapper Dan
  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: St. Louis Missouri
  • Posts: 583
    • kurysound.com
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2019, 05:40:46 PM »
occasionally, I have had the same problem. :(
If I recall, turning off the DL32R power and then turning it back on allowed me to use the drive.

dpdan

  • Dapper Dan
  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: St. Louis Missouri
  • Posts: 583
    • kurysound.com
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2019, 05:43:52 PM »
ToH2002 is correct, it is always best to format the drive with the DL32R,
but your answer to his post would lead him to believe that formatting the drive on that recording page is not even an option...

It doesn't give me that option

thanks

what you meant was.... the option to format is greyed out
« Last Edit: June 26, 2019, 05:45:54 PM by dpdan »

musicman7722

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Hamtpon NH, USA 03844
  • Posts: 186
    • Triple Play
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2019, 05:58:01 PM »
Well an interesting story here.  The hard drive I am trying to us is a new Seagate Ultra Slim.  Anyway I am a PC tech and in my office I have some hard drive caddy;'s/  I grabbed one and put an old 80 gig laptop hard drive I had lying around.  I plugged the caddy into the 32r and then booted up the 32r.  I reopened the software and it gave me first a busy notice then the ability to format the drive.  I did so and I was able to record.  I shut the caddy off and plugged in my Seagate, that to then gave me the option to reformat.  I did and the drive came up as usable and I recorded to that too.

Then I shut the dl32 off with the drive in it.  When I looked it said error.  Hmm  I did the option all over again using the 80 gig first and then the Seagate which I reformatted again which came back online.

This time however I hit the eject for each drive before taking them out or shutting down.  So far every time I reboot the 32r it recognizes the big drive.

Hmm, I will give it awhile and try it again to see if that was the issue.

dpdan

  • Dapper Dan
  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: St. Louis Missouri
  • Posts: 583
    • kurysound.com
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2019, 06:25:56 PM »
you know what????
You may just have the answer....

as most of us know, it is always recommended to "Eject" the drive before shutting down or unplugging the drive.
This could very well be a typical old Microsoft design issue, (FAT32) if the drive was not finished doing what it was doing when it last lost power (like shutting off the DL32R at the end of a gig),
the next time it is awakened, it gives the ERROR!

Although now that I think of it...
I have done hundreds and hundreds of jobs with my DL32R and I always leave the drive connected and only eject it when I literally want to transfer files from it which is almost never.
So, why is this becoming an issue just occasionally?
retorical question  :)   
« Last Edit: June 26, 2019, 06:30:30 PM by dpdan »

musicman7722

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Hamtpon NH, USA 03844
  • Posts: 186
    • Triple Play
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2019, 12:06:23 AM »
same here but often times it is all about the work around right  :thu:

dpdan

  • Dapper Dan
  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: St. Louis Missouri
  • Posts: 583
    • kurysound.com
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2019, 02:21:11 AM »
that's for sure,,, one time it really screwed me...

I was going to record a band's reunion with their system which is a DL32R and I brought one of my drives that I use with mine,,,
I got the error and nothing I did allowed me to format and use the drive so the event was NOT recorded.


musicman7722

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Hamtpon NH, USA 03844
  • Posts: 186
    • Triple Play
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2019, 12:23:32 PM »
That is what happened to me as well and if you see my early posts it took an old hard drive plugged in via a hdd caddy to allow me to get the format prompt back.

musicman7722

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Hamtpon NH, USA 03844
  • Posts: 186
    • Triple Play
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2019, 12:24:41 PM »
I am also happy to report all is well and I recorded a 2 hour Beatles Tribut band at an outdoor show last night.  I was able to start and stop each tune as they performed them and in the end playback worked.  Finally I ejected the drive :)

dpdan

  • Dapper Dan
  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: St. Louis Missouri
  • Posts: 583
    • kurysound.com
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2019, 09:33:58 PM »
that's gutsy, I would stop and restart only occasionally, but that's just me :)

musicman7722

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Hamtpon NH, USA 03844
  • Posts: 186
    • Triple Play
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2019, 12:48:40 PM »
I don't feel that way.  EAsy to end the song, the tricky part is getting back to the effects in time to turn them off LOL

dpdan

  • Dapper Dan
  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: St. Louis Missouri
  • Posts: 583
    • kurysound.com
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2019, 03:30:02 PM »
I can relate  :)

JohnMHoyt

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Greenville, South Carolina
  • Posts: 246
    • Hot As A Pepper Party & Event Band
Re: Hard Drive Error on DL32r
« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2019, 03:08:03 PM »
I don't feel that way.  EAsy to end the song, the tricky part is getting back to the effects in time to turn them off LOL

It's easy if you use two iPads to mix with.   But not so easy if the band bangs the next song without taking a breath.  The DL32R does NOT respond to starting a recording lightning fast, so even at my rehearsals, I've missed the count-off when recording songs, hitting start on the ONE... It doesn't actually record until the 3 or 4, or sometimes after the start of the song