Author Topic: DL1608 Aux 3 not working  (Read 70 times)

pytchley

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 183
DL1608 Aux 3 not working
« on: June 27, 2020, 11:20:43 AM »
I came across an old DL1608 for 200 and snapped it up as a spare as I have one of the very first ones to come out that has served me well but is going to flake out one of these days and I just sold my last analogue standby mixer. Everything works fine despite signs of heavy usage except Aux 3. The signal is present on the ipad and in the headphone output but nothing at the jack output. If I cycle the power with only this output plugged in I can hear the same little pop I get from all the other outputs in the same situation. Anybody else had this issue? If so where do I start to take it to pieces, I'm guessing it's a ribbon cable?

WK154

  • Door #3
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: Valencia CA
  • Posts: 2493
Re: DL1608 Aux 3 not working
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2020, 02:45:19 PM »
Unfortunately you have to get at both the motherboard and the I/O board to re-seat the cable, the second from the left (J9) once you lift the iPad tray. What will help are the schematics found here   http://cacophony.aspinock.com/index.php?topic=1564.msg18428#msg18428
The DL1608 was never designed for easy maintenance. See sheet 9 and 11 for aux3. Good luck.
Cheers
« Last Edit: June 27, 2020, 03:59:31 PM by WK154 »
When in doubt KISS

pytchley

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: France
  • Posts: 183
Re: DL1608 Aux 3 not working
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2020, 03:37:56 PM »
Thanks for the advice. I'm just finishing putting my old 27" iMac back together having successfully brought the video card back to life after baking it in the oven (10 minutes at 200C)! So ready for anything now....

WK154

  • Door #3
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: Valencia CA
  • Posts: 2493
Re: DL1608 Aux 3 not working
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2020, 04:05:19 PM »
You'll need plenty of baggies to label the screws to keep your sanity. I corrected the board name above to I/O board. Cable from J9 (Motherboard) goes to J5 (I/O) board. Bound to be the cheapest cables Mackie could buy. :)
When in doubt KISS