Author Topic: Wireless streaming to the DL1608  (Read 19654 times)

BlendedMix

• Youngling
Wireless streaming to the DL1608
« on: May 03, 2013, 08:43:42 AM »
I apologize for the length of this post even before I get started.  You have been so helpful on the boards, and I've learned a TON from reading what you and others have contributed.  That's a good thing, because I'm new to this game.  I got asked to help a PTO at an elementary school acquire and have a sound system installed.  The DL sounded perfect for the application for a lot of reasons, so here I am...in quest of knowledge.   

The system is in their "cafetorium."  They had what I guess was at least a 23 year old Ducane system from when the school was originally built.  So it's a big step up, and the music teacher is an older lady who has some technical knowledge, but not much.  There's the boring background...sorry.   

I felt the DL was the perfect system, because my hope is to get everything set up for the different types of performances they typically conduct (talent shows, presentations, plays, choir performances, etc.), and store them so that recalling them will have the appropriate inputs and levels at the touch of a button.  I think that is much more reasonable for them to learn than having someone truly understand all of the knobs and buttons that control a "traditional" analog mixing board.  We hope to make it as much of a "set it and forget it" type of approach as we can.  While I realize that flies in the face of what a really good sound engineer would ever recommend, the whole goal here is to make it as user friendly as possible.  As they learn the system, they can learn and do more.     

The biggest limitation I'm facing is with the music.  I've hit some barriers regarding the Airport Express, and the school districts tech dept. is up in arms about adding another network within the school.  The ultimate goal was: