Author Topic: My first real gig with the DL1608  (Read 10052 times)

iBloke

My first real gig with the DL1608
« on: August 18, 2014, 09:17:36 AM »
Firstly I'd like to state that I really hope jerrylee http://cacophony.aspinock.com/index.php?action=profile;u=4341 doesn't personally attack me again in this thread using the vile language and animosity he displayed towards me in my previous threads (fingers crossed)
I purchased a DL1608 about a month ago. Had the documented noise issue playing music from the docked iPad.
I sent that DL back in exchange for a new one, which doesn't blast the white/pink/whatever noise as often as the first DL....But still does it on a not so regular basis (using 3 different ipads)

Anyway I don't play music from a docked iPad anymore due to its unreliable nature. I just waste 2 channels by plugging in an iPod.

First real gig with a band I've been working for 3+ years.

Super easy to setup with my old Allen & Heath.
Not quite so simple with the DL...but luckily the venue owner gave us plenty of time for setup and sound check.

Cut a long story short, using the DL wirelessly was a revelation!
Firstly tuning monitors with a graphic EQ in my hands at each microphone was a dream come true!

And to be able to sit on a comfy chair at the back of the venue and have wireless access to a plethora of audio tools was the cherry on the cake!

The outcome is I really dig the DL1608 even though it has some relatively serious software bugs that mackie can't seem to solve.

A pic of the guitarist (sergeant of Morwell crimes devision) and his wife in an 80's cheerleader costume

« Last Edit: August 18, 2014, 04:35:24 PM by iBloke »

Wynnd

• Master
Re: My first real gig with the DL1608
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2014, 11:07:55 AM »
There are times I miss the physical faders.  But all in all a very capable mixer.  Twice the number of controls of a MixWiz.  It's a lot in a small package.

CyberHippy

• Padawan
  • Bass Bass Bass