Author Topic: FAQ: Using FX on the iPad  (Read 3319 times)

RoadRanger

  • SysGod
  • Counselor
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: NE CT USA
  • Posts: 1761
  • "Wherever you go, There you are"
    • Cacophony Forums
FAQ: Using FX on the iPad
« on: December 12, 2014, 08:22:01 PM »
Theoretically we should now be able to route the recording output (AKA iPad input) to aux 5 & 6 and run an FX app on the iPad that returns on the iPad channel. Might have to also use the audiobus app with some FX modules.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2015, 01:15:33 AM by RoadRanger »

tmn126

  • Youngling
  • **
  • Location:
  • Posts: 23
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2014, 09:53:43 PM »
Hi RR,

Do you have any good FX apps that you recommend?

Thx,

Wynnd

  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: Denver Co.
  • Posts: 1248
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2014, 09:56:47 PM »
you talking about the DL32R?   I don't  see that on the 1608.  If this actually works, the ipad model will probably make a difference.  (Older models not up to multi-tasking?)  Definitely worth an investigation.

Wynnd

  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: Denver Co.
  • Posts: 1248
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2014, 10:05:35 PM »
Let see if I understand what you're talking about.  Use a second app to record on the ipad from one or two of the aux channels, then route the output of that app into the ipad channel.  This might work. 

tmn126

  • Youngling
  • **
  • Location:
  • Posts: 23
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2014, 10:06:25 PM »
1608

tmn126

  • Youngling
  • **
  • Location:
  • Posts: 23
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2014, 10:15:04 PM »
I wonder if that would work on the 32R? routing two aux's to USB 1 and 2 then attaching the USB B connector to the IPAD (through the fx app), and finally bringing the Ipad analog out back to a couple 32R inputs.

cheers,

RoadRanger

  • SysGod
  • Counselor
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: NE CT USA
  • Posts: 1761
  • "Wherever you go, There you are"
    • Cacophony Forums
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2014, 11:29:02 PM »
I'm looking to try the Rooms! app as it's basic functionality is free. To use most of the IR convolution reverbs requires an $8 in-app purchase which isn't all that bad. There is warning that the bigger IR 'verbs can run your iPad out of CPU :( . I'm able to use the iPad's internal mic with it using headphones so that's promising. Dunno if it's worth losing music playback from the iPad to gain a second reverb? There are lots of other FX apps but some require audiobus (which I own anyways) and they all cost $$$. I'd like to find a basic reverb/chorus combo. In any case worth a try first to see if it works :) .

Ampli

  • Padawan
  • ***
  • Location:
  • Posts: 122
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2014, 04:32:42 AM »
Just tryed to do this
Put the reverb app (ad480) on my iphone, docked the iphone and route the aux signal to the phone, the signal comes back throug the ipad channel
Dont have atm speakers or headphone connected
Dont now about the delay times or so
I used as test signal the airplay funtion on my ipad
« Last Edit: December 13, 2014, 04:34:57 AM by Ampli »

RoadRanger

  • SysGod
  • Counselor
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: NE CT USA
  • Posts: 1761
  • "Wherever you go, There you are"
    • Cacophony Forums
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #8 on: December 13, 2014, 04:36:55 AM »
Hey, just occurred to me that we can split the iPad channel so we should be able to get two mono FX running on the iPad!

RoadRanger

  • SysGod
  • Counselor
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: NE CT USA
  • Posts: 1761
  • "Wherever you go, There you are"
    • Cacophony Forums
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2014, 04:42:12 AM »
Just tryed to do this
Put the reverb app (ad480) on my iphone, docked the iphone and route the aux signal to the phone, the signal comes back throug the ipad channel
Dont have atm speakers or headphone connected
Dont now about the delay times or so
I used as test signal the airplay funtion on my ipad
Awesome! What do you think of  the AD 480 "free" app? It looked kinda lame to me when I tried it, the Rooms! "free" app seemed more capable. Besides having a few demo convolution 'verbs it has a fully adjustable algorithmic 'verb that sounds much like the Mackie one.

Ampli

  • Padawan
  • ***
  • Location:
  • Posts: 122
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2014, 04:43:48 AM »
Tryed ad on my iphone4
It very lagging so i will not be using it
Try to find the rooms! App

RoadRanger

  • SysGod
  • Counselor
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: NE CT USA
  • Posts: 1761
  • "Wherever you go, There you are"
    • Cacophony Forums
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2014, 05:43:59 AM »
Try to find the rooms! App
Search for "convolution" , the app store search function sux :( .

RoadRanger

  • SysGod
  • Counselor
  • Master
  • *****
  • Location: NE CT USA
  • Posts: 1761
  • "Wherever you go, There you are"
    • Cacophony Forums
Re: Using FX on the iPad?
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2014, 05:53:06 PM »
Hey, just noticed that there's a couple awesome reverb apps on sale:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/altispace-convolution-reverb/id870386229 (I just bought his one for $4, was $7 !)
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mobile-convolution-reverb/id910004782 (I almost bought this one for $3 - was $6 - but the other one seemed worth the extra buck)
The first one has like 300 presets including emulations of many famous rackmount units and seems to run fine on my iPad 2 with nothing else running, I'll have to try it with Master Fader in the foreground...
« Last Edit: December 31, 2014, 05:59:26 PM by RoadRanger »

nottooloud

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location:
  • Posts: 271
Re: FAQ: Using FX on the iPad
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2015, 06:03:43 PM »
« Last Edit: February 18, 2015, 07:03:49 PM by RoadRanger »

ijpengelly

  • Knight
  • ****
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • Posts: 249
  • Weekend Warrior
Re: FAQ: Using FX on the iPad
« Reply #14 on: May 13, 2015, 07:16:53 PM »
Just having a look now and there appears to be a few versions of the AD480 (free, basic - 2.99, pro - 10.99). The basic looks like it has a few more features than the free, so possibly worth the 2.99. I assume the free one is designed to demonstrate that it sounds good and entice you into spending a bit more?

I also found VocaLive, which looks a bit gimmicky, but is free for the basic functionality and then you can make in-app purchases. I'll have a go with this and see what its like.