Author Topic: My First Big Show with the DL32R  (Read 8187 times)

wkndwarrior

• Youngling
My First Big Show with the DL32R
« on: March 24, 2015, 12:12:15 AM »
As background info, I'm a long-time sound tech, and have used the DL1608 a lot in the past successfully, so I am familiar with the software, and like the way it sounds. I recently upgraded to the DL32R, and spent some time getting familiar with the new software and the rack.

This past weekend, I did my first show with the DL32R. I work with a top area band and they were opening for a national act at a big venue here in town. I brought in my DL32R to use and tapped into the house PA. I had my DL32R rack on stage, under the drum riser, with the router on top of the rack. Sound check went fine, and it was great to be on stage with the band and get their monitor mixes the way they wanted.

I have read a lot on forums about wifi connection issues, dropouts, and other horror stories, so I was nervous before the show started, since the crowd there was over 1000 people. I knew that if there were any problems, it would probably be a disaster. We did have the house board if needed as a backup, but that was small comfort.

Well, I'm happy to say that the show went great and I had no problems at all. The wireless connection was rock-solid, and the sound quality was excellent. I was using my new iPad Air, and a Netgear N600 dual band router at 5GHz, which I used in the past successfully with the DL1608. I was pretty relieved to know that I can count on my new setup going forward. As others have noted, the built-in effects are just ok, but I am hoping that Mackie will be putting out new high-end reverbs/delays and other effects soon. When that happens, this mixer will be hard to beat!

dpdan

• Dapper Dan
  • Master
    • kurysound.com
Re: My First Big Show with the DL32R
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2015, 01:36:11 AM »
Hi weekendwarrior,
thanks for your report,
i'm glad to hear everything went great!